Wednesday, 27 September 2017

Congratulations to Dale Hodge and Bridget Smith for winning the final of the Doris Mitchell Doubles Match over runners-up Sharon Klan and Janet Hull 1 up. Sounds like a close match!

Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Locker Room Fundraising:

Many thanks to all of you who participated willingly again and again this year! And thanks to Shirley Harrison for the generous donation of the 2 chairs and to Susan Meldrum for her countless hours of time and expertise.
You will see from the Bottom Line we surpassed the $1500 Goal! And we have reserves to carry on.

Many thanks to Diane Moffat, Ene Milner, and Joy Vogt for all their time, input, and wonderful selling skills! Many hands make light work, as the saying goes! 

Respectfully submitted,

Sandi MacDonald
P.S.  We have 86 Fantasy Golf Cards left over. A few more games in the Spring??

Sunday, 24 September 2017

Thanks to Barb Pemberton, our games captain, and the rest of the executive for a terrific Closing Field Day. It was one of the warmest days of the year, but we had a great time as usual. (Not complaining about the weather - it will be gone too soon.)

Thanks to Lynn Attley for giving us a target on number 10, and yes that really is Linda Isaac's shot next to her. Ann Hall, Ene Milner, and Patty McDonald are pictured with the Scarecrow.

Closing Field Day Results: 
First Place: Annabel Thorpe, Jeanne Beaith, Linda MacDonald, Barb Pemberton

 Second Place: Lynda Rennick, Yvonne Shannon, Tracey Bodashefsky

 Third Place: Lynn Marie Johnston, Carol MacGregor, Donna Todd, Diane Moffat

Trophy Winners

18 Hole Match Play - Sharon Klan

Mickey Ayres Putting Competition - Jeanne Beaith

Brent Trophy - Most Improved Handicap - Betty Bright 

Doris Mitchell Doubles Match Play - Dale Hodge, Bridget Smith

 Bulger Alternate Shot - Tracey Bodashefsky & Annabel Thorpe

Mary Buckley Eclectic - Betty Bright  

 Greta Phillips Better Ball - Tracey Bodashefsky and Janet Hull 

And the Winner of Harry for 2017: Bridget Smith

Wednesday, 20 September 2017

Team Play Awards and AGM

Tuesday was our finale for league play - a net Stableford competition, where that one bad hole doesn't hurt so much. We also had an elimination draw for Harry. The winner was not there, so her name shall remain secret for a while. Prizes were handed out for Team Play and our general meeting took place with votes tabled to Sunday, so we have a quorum. 

Team Play Results

 1st Place - Well, Hello Mary Lou
Back L to R: Ene Milner, Patty McDonald, Dale Hodge. Front: Jeanne Beaith, Claudia van der Meulen. Missing: Captain Mary Lou Secord, Pierrette Heydon, Sandi MacDonald, Laurie Pudwell, Gail Richards.   

2nd Place - Joan of Par
Back L to R: Tracey Bodashefsky, Donna Todd, Betty Bright, Jane Gibbens. Front: Captain Joan Hayward, Ariane Macdonald. Missing: Gina Jackson, Susan Meldrum, Barb Pemberton, Annabel Thorpe.

Most Valuable Players for 3rd and 4th Teams
Susan Ross-Foster - Birdie Babes, Diane Moffat - ToMorrow's Winners

Another HUGE pickle made an appearance with Ann's meal, but Janet's is pretty tiny by comparison. 

Sunday, 17 September 2017

Can you tell which team won? Yay, Herons. But the Falcons aren't bitter!  All in good fun!
The first competition introducing our two permanent teams, Gages Creek Herons vs Dalewood Falcons was held Saturday, September 16th, under very sunny, hot, yes hot, skies!! In fact, there were discussions about changing Team Falcons' colour from black to white! We had 20 women, in 5 groups competing for the coveted Dalewood Solheim Cup. The matches were very close, but alas, Team Falcons Captain Diane Moffat had the task of presenting Team Blue Herons with the prize winnings. The final score was Herons 8, Falcons 7.

And, it is never too late to join. Check the bulletin board before closing for team members. If you wish to join for next year, see me.

Please note: Joining is the first step. The second step is to watch for the sign up for the tournament.
Until next year!

Sandi MacDonald

Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Checking the scores for Team Play: Diane, Ariane, Sharon, and Linda. It was good to see Art and Lynda Rennick out for 9 holes, as well. The results will be posted tomorrow. If you can't wait, check out the link on the right sidebar.

Friday, 8 September 2017

Solheim Cup - Saturday, Sept 16

It's not too late to sign up to play! The  Herons  need 2 more and the  Falcons  1 more to make a field of 20!
And if you would still like to join a team let Sandi MacDonald know! The sign up sheets are outside our locker room. The cost is $5 cash for the tournament. (Exact change please for your captain.)

Coffee and light snacks will be available - check your name if interested.

Note from captains - show your team spirit by wearing whatever you have in your colour:
                                     Falcons - Black                           Herons - Blue 

Today (Sept 9) is the last Saturday Skins game of the season. Times are reserved - phone the pro shop to sign in.

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

A little rain for about 2 holes dampened our golfers, but not our spirits during the 2017 version of the Devil's Tournament. The winners were as follows:
First Place: Janet and Ene
Second Place: Shirley and Tracey
Third Place: Sharon and Lynn

Fourth Place: Linda and Dale
In addition, we played Fantasy Golf Cards and Ene won $50 with a score of 65 and Linda MacDonald was second winning $30. We raised over $180 for the locker room. Barb is seen below buying her fantasy golf cards from 3/4 of our fundraising team: Joy, Diane, and Ene (missing in Scotland: Sandi).

Saturday, 2 September 2017

Solheim Cup is coming on September 16, with tee times starting at noon.

The teams and sign up sheets are posted on our bulletin board. Place a check mark beside your name if you can play this year.

Gages Creek Herons: Team colour is BLUE - Captain Sandi MacDonald
Dalewood Falcons: Team colour is BLACK - Captain Diane Moffat

 Cost is $5.00 cash.

Coffee/tea/snacks/team building/trash talk at 11:00am! Check your name for that, too. You will be chitted for this separately.

Please note: Captains can change next year. As well, if you decide you would like to play, your name can be added. These teams will remain from year to year.